What Happens If You Are Involved With An Uninsured Driver?
What do you do if you have been involved in a car accident with a driver that does not have any auto insurance? Trying to sue an uninsured driver may not be worthwhile since if they are unable to afford car insurance, they may also not have the money to afford the outcome of a lawsuit, leaving you in the lurch to cover attorney fees. Thankfully, insurance companies provide the option of proving uninsured motorist coverage, protecting you in the event that an accident occurs with an uninsured driver when it is that driver’s fault.
Under Missouri law, drivers are required to have insurance coverage in the event they are involved in a car accident. However, thousands of drivers do not have insurance, threatening those that do when a crash occurs. When an insured driver is in an accident with an uninsured driver, it falls on the responsibility of the insured driver to cover the expenses of the uninsured driver.
In Missouri, a driver must hold uninsured motorist coverage totaling:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person; and
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident.
A driver is able to purchase more uninsured motorist coverage if they think they will be needing it. By holding this coverage, you can be confident that you are covered if an uninsured driver crashes into you.
These types of claims are processed by your own personal car insurance company. Within a set amount of time, you must report the accident and begin a claim to get the money you are owed. However, insurance companies are always looking to protect their bottom line, and may not always deliver what you need.
Whenever you are dealing with insurance companies, it is helpful to have an experienced personal injury attorney by your side. While you are not able to bring a lawsuit against your own insurance company, a lawyer can help compile the proper evidence to bring the case to mediation and obtain your highest possible settlement amount possible.