Understanding Car Insurance Policies In Missouri and Kansas
For all drivers in Missouri and Kansas, understanding the car insurance requirements in each state is important. Knowing what your policy entails, what the law requires of you, and how you’re supposed to protect yourself on the road is very important.
Here are the requirements in Missouri and Kansas.
Missouri Auto Insurance Requirements
In the state of Missouri, all drivers are required to have at least the minimum amounts of liability insurance coverage. This means that they maintain $25,000 coverage for bodily injury per person involved in the accident, $50,000 for total bodily injury per accident, and $10,000 for total amount of property damage.
In terms of bodily injury, Missouri drivers are also required to carry uninsured motorist coverage. The minimum amounts are the same for the liability coverage above. However, there is no requirement to carry uninsured motorist insurance for damage to property.
In Missouri, there are optional insurance coverages available including comprehensive and collision. There are also coverages that can help with medical payments, emergency roadside assistance, and reimbursement for rental car.
Kansas Auto Insurance Requirements
In Kansas, the law requires that drivers have at least these four auto insurance coverages: bodily injury liability, property damage liability, personal injury protection, and uninsured / underinsured motorist protection.
- For liability coverages, the minimum amounts required by law are $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $25,000 per accident for property damage.
- For personal injury protection coverage, the minimum amounts required by law are $4,500 per person for medical expenses, $900 per month for disability (up to a year), $25 per day for in-home services, $2,000 for costs associated with death, and $4,500 for rehab costs. There may also be $900 a month for a year of loss of income or disability for survivor benefits.
- For uninsured and underinsured coverages, the minimum amounts required by law are $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
At DiPasquale Moore, our car accident lawyers understand the coverages in Missouri and Kansas. We work hard to help you understand what rights you may have after a crash based on the insurance coverages you have, as well as the coverage of the negligent party. We’re here to help you every step of the way.
Call us today at (888) 743-1030 to discuss your potential case if you’ve been involved in an accident caused by negligence.