Image of sunny day in the city of Chicago in Illinois

Understanding Statute of Limitations for Car Accident Claims in Illinois  


If you or a loved one was involved in a car accident in Illinois, it’s important to understand the legal time limit you are under if you plan to seek compensation for your injuries or damages.  

Car accidents can lead to a massive strain on finances as well as emotional, physical, and mental health.  We will cover the essentials to keep in mind if you intend to file a claim and why the DiPasquale Moore team of personal injury attorneys is suited to handle your car accident case.  

How Long Do You Have to Report an Accident in Illinois? 

The statute of limitations for any case is the legal deadline for filing a lawsuit and seeking compensation. In Illinois, the statute of limitations of limitations for car accidents is two years from the date of your accident. If you don’t file your case within this timeframe, you may permanently lose your right to compensation.  While there may be a few exceptions (discovery rule, minors, fraud, etc.) to this, there’s no arguing that over time, memories become hazy, and events of the past become less relevant, so it is crucial to file your case as soon as you’re able to.  

Types of Damages You Can Recover After a Car Accident 

There are a variety of damages you can pursue when you file a car accident claim in Illinois. These damages include: 

Economic Damages 

Quantifiable financial losses like medical expenses, property damage, lost wages, and any present or future expenses related to the accident.  

Non-economic Damages 

Intangible losses that are not easily quantifiable including pain and suffering, emotional distress, decrease in quality of life, or permanent disabilities or impairments.  

Punitive Damages 

Damages assessed to punish a defendant for gross  negligence, for example, in drunk driving cases.  

Limits on Damage Recovery 

In Illinois you are able to seek compensation for the full amount of losses caused by the car accident. Illinois does not have a limit on damages in a car accident case. 

However, it is important to keep in mind the amount available from insurance to cover your losses.  Illinois requires drivers to hold a minimum amount of $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury liability, and $20,000 for property damage liability. If the at-fault driver’s policy limits are insufficient to cover your damages, you may need to explore other options for compensation such as Personal Injury Protection (PIP) or Uninsured Motorist Coverage. An experienced personal injury attorney can guide you through potential avenues for compensation.  

Is Illinois an At-fault State? 

Illinois operates under a traditional fault-based system. This means that whoever is responsible for the accident is designated as the at-fault party and is responsible for compensating victims for their damages.  

Contact DiPasquale Moore for Guidance on Your Personal Injury Case 

Navigating the legal landscape for car accident claims can be challenging. That’s why it is always in your best interest to have a skilled team at your side. DiPasquale Moore is here to help. Our car accident lawyers have over a century of combined experience and a proven track record of successfully representing our clients.  

Contact us today for a free consultation and let us provide you with the support you need to maximize your compensation for your car accident. We’re dedicated to advocating for your rights. 



Related Posts